Cooking indeed is not rocket science

The idea of starting a video series on how to cook for beginners germinated at a school meet where I had been invited to talk to the students who were in their final year. And as expected, most of them wanted to know why I chose this profession since cooking is so difficult and one has to spend hours over hot stove. I then told them that cooking really is not rocket science and with little patience and lots of passion, perseverance and interest it is easy to master the art of cooking.

Well the best place to start learning about how to cook is naturally right from the beginning. Let me tell you one well kept secret about myself – it took me very long to master the art of rolling out a round roti. Even now I need to concentrate a lot so that my rotis do not get misshapen.

It really is easy to become a great cook nowadays. With such technical advancement it is ever so easy to get quality raw ingredients with just a click of a button and a credit card. We can now order just about anything on earth sitting at home in front of our computers. The earth is indeed shrinking and home cooks are big time beneficiaries of it. Practically everything is within easy access – not just ingredients but also cooking methods and exotic recipes.

Now, now don’t you complain that your kitchen is not adequately equipped. When I started out in this profession we did not have the equipment that is available now. Yet we managed and very well too. So let me assure you that good cooks can make a lot happen with very little equipment. So don’t rush out to buy everything that is available – buy only what you need. As you graduate in your culinary prowess you can further equip your kitchen. Anyways there is no point in spending money on things that you do not know how to operate.

An important lesson to be taught and to be learnt is that do not be afraid of making mistakes. I made umpteen ones, which when I recall now makes me wonder how I could have been so clumsy. But then you learn from your mistakes, don’t you? I did learn and these mistakes helped me hone my skills. And I am where I am because of them. So let me assure you that the best chefs are those who made mistakes and learnt from them.

You too can become an expert cook. Just watch your grandmother or mother as they go about their ‘business’ in the kitchen. And if you are away from home, then just log on to

and I promise you they will take you step by step up the ladder to becoming if not the best but a good enough cook.

Happy learning

Sanjeev Kapoor

2 thoughts on “Cooking indeed is not rocket science

Leave a Reply

