EASTER AT THE WHITE HOUSE!

The Varli Food Festival went extremely well with all the love and support we got from Varli and Rick and the people here in New York City. And to add to it, a cherry to the icing – I had an amazing visit to the White House alongwith dear friend Chef K N Vinod and met another gem of a person with whom I work very closely in Mumbai Chef Anil Rohira there on Easter day. The ambience was all festive and a lot is expected to happen today as well because of the traditional Easter egg roll hunt where a whopping 30,000 visitors are already expected.
 
Executive Chef Bill Yosses of the White House fame took us around and shared behind the scene preparations for Easter. Chef Yosses being fond of Indian food discussed at length its growing popularity in United States and at the White House. He loves to visit Indique Heights, Chef Vinod’s restaurant.
 
Also, a moment of pride for me was to present my latest book on Indian food, How To Cook Indian to Chef Yosses as also for President Obama and his better half, the First Lady. We also visited the First Lady’s favorite place in the house, her kitchen garden. It was exhilarating for me to get this opportunity to make it to the White House. Also, I have extended an invitation to Chef Yosses to visit India for a culinary tour. And by the way, the White House kitchen makes meals for around 4000 people everyday and the size of the kitchen is not as big as I expected it to be and this I guess could be a challenge for any chef.
 
To know more about my visit, click on the following link:
 
 
As I prepare for my journey back, let me share some local recipes from this part of the world.
 
 
 
Till I write again.
Sanjeev Kapoor
Leave a Reply

