Of stress busters and ghar ka khana !

We are all alarm clock driven people! And therein lies a point…that we wake up to noise and then we are committed to deadlines through the day: get ready, time par, reach work, time par, then finish the work (well, sometimes over time!) and then back home and dinner and sleep time (again this is Indian Flexible Time). Stress, as they say, can culminate and cause some changes in the body that can be detrimental. As we all seem to be really rushing so why not read along for a few minutes and take a breather…think of some stress busters for yourself. What would make you really relaxed and happy for a few minutes in the day?

I love spending time with my family. I love listening to music and of course reading. I love to play on my drums. I can spend hours on end with books. I enjoy travelling and meeting people. I love travelling the world with my camera…for I love photography too. Wherever I go I make it a point to learn about the food of that place and try to learn some recipes too. It’s food that drives me – anything to do with food.

Now, is the new generation feeling concerned about their health? They are concerned – definitely. Which is why even if they do binge they also work out. Here’s where the gyms are making their moolah. In fact I could say that generation next has an edge over us. They know what is good because the bad has come in now offering loads of distractions. They are aware that heavy oily stuff is not good for them. But, as taste and fads are paramount, and there is so much peer pressure, the diet is absolutely trendy. Then like I said there are always the gyms to provide succour. Also accepting dal sabzi roti chawal as a healthy combo is getting along. A proper meal at home is the foundation of good health., then you will come across many who can forgo this combination! But we are not doing a survey here. The young generation will savour ghar ka khana if there is someone around to provide them with fresh stuff. And life is busy for parents and kids alike. So let us take the first step to busting stress by improving our diets and giving more importance to ghar ka khana. Are you with me?

Take some recipes for a good example: Gajar Gobhi Shalgam ka saag, Lauki Manpasand, Tilwale Palak Aloo.

I would prefer to end with ‘happy cooking’ here!

Sanjeev Kapoor

Leave a Reply

