International Women’s Day – my best wishes.

As the year marches ahead, there are some days, some occasions, some festivals that bring colour, good food and also a time to retrospect. I do hope you have had a chance to read Alyona’s first ever article for the website. I can say, very humbly, that a lady who looks after herself, will also be fit to look after the whole family. Alyona is the backbone of my family and I wish her the best in everything she does. My mom, and my little women Rachita and Kriti, I wish the same for you too!
Entire country was watching and waiting to hear the passing of Women’s Reservation Bill in the parliament today, but as has been happening for the last 14 years, today also it met it’s normal opponents and not seen the light of the day. A golden opportunity lost again!
As we prepare to get some food shots done for the book on recipes for fussy kids, let me tell you that the enquiries on how to get the little ones to eat are mind boggling! I am sure this book will be met with open arms…kids love food that looks good and for me presentation is paramount! I always think of the plate as an empty canvas that needs a pictorial representation. Most chefs prefer the classic white or earth tones as these complement all colours of food. Only recently have I started playing with coloured crockery as vivid as turquoise to offset maybe, a rich orange moist prawn preparation. I have also served hot spicy rasam in shot glasses!
It is easy to go overboard in garnishing the food. But the first rule of ‘keep it simple’ helps here. Garnishes are best made with edible items. Recently, we had to garnish a pineapple mousse. It was pale yellow, nearly cream in colour. Cherries are run-of-the-mill so we decided to use caramel art. Well, the sugar syrup went a little ahead than we expected and as the lights were set, the mousse ready to melt, we spun the sugar into wisps of sugar threads. Took a bunch and put it on the mousse. A bit of creativity is very satisfying!
The more popular garnishes like lemon twist or slice, cucumber twist, carrot juliennes, carrot bundle, spring onion whisk, red chilli flower, tomato wings and roses, chocolate and sugar craft can help you create some wonderful looking plates. Play around with two to three colours, never more, for it should be easy on the eye. Sauces also play a key role in dressing up the plate. Sauce can be served around or under the food and if you desire to pour it on top, pipe in thin ribbon form ensuring that the food is not hidden under it.
Presentation is the key to a successful dish. Here are my favourites:

Till I write again,

Sanjeev Kapoor.

One thought on “International Women’s Day – my best wishes.

  1. Rasam in shot glasses!…whoa! that's an idea :)I have been your fan from the time I got interested in cooking…i remember making copious notes watching Khana Khazana on Zee TV 🙂 Priya Qwww.akshayapatram.com

Leave a Reply

