Wonderchef initiatives, Kolkata trip, Bengali sweets

Off to Kolkata for a day to attend a students’ event at Subhas Bose Institute of Hotel Management. Will have lunch with my Maasi and Maasaji and then back home tomorrow! Have to be – for Sunday is my Dream Run for the Forum of Autism. Harsha Bhogle, Alyona, and my team are running with me.
I always look forward to Kolkata. If I have time I have to pick up some gundi paan and get them home for Alyona. These are of special melt-in-the-mouth quality. I have spent some summer vacations of my childhood in Kolkata and know what the roadside puchkas, jhaal muri, stuffed mango kulfi, aam papad taste like! In fact all these special tastes are deeply embedded in my memory! I always say if passion has to be given a definition then the world should stop a while in Bengal! Bengalis are known for their deep love for books, music and theatre. What oxygen is to a being, poetry and art is for a Bengali! Though Bengalis are more famous for being fastidious, demanding and far too critical, they are, let me admit, accurate in their culinary judgements!
Yesterday the latter part of the afternoon went in a performance assessment meeting for Wonderchef convened by Nicolas Gras and Ravi Saxena. We had a brain storming session for 2010 and there is likelihood of new launches in the range.
My new book Dakshin Delights is ready – riffled through the advance copy while travelling to the airport – it will open new horizons for those who want to cook new things on a regular basis!
As thoughts of Notun Gurer Payesh and Sandesh enter my mind I also hear my flight being announced!
Bye for now.
Sanjeev Kapoor.
One thought on “Wonderchef initiatives, Kolkata trip, Bengali sweets

  1. I am Bengali & spend the first 21 yrs of my life in Bengali. Now staying away from home and reading thru the names of the so mentioned food is making me all home sick!Soma Rathore (www.ecurry.com)

Leave a Reply

